A secret gateway

If I could build a magical tunnel that instantly connected my home to any one place in the world, I’d choose to frequent an abandoned Irish castle.

In my mind’s eye, the castle would resemble the abandoned manor in Ever After where Danielle (Drew Barrymore) and the Prince (Dougray Scott) secretly met. A beautiful spot with sunlight streaming in, perfect to while away the long hours reading or contemplating the mysteries of the universe.

From what I’ve heard of Ireland, the weather would be dreamy as well. A gorgeous breeze that could waft in during my sojourns there or a mild shower that would have me waltzing through the rain before ducking under the castle’s cover.

Clearly I’m no stranger to solitude and often prefer my own company to the diplomatic hassles of dealing with friends, acquaintances and co-workers. This magical vortex would be my secret hideaway, wrapping me warm like a cocoon until I’m ready to face the world again.

If only wishes were …. Genie, where are you?

Leave a Reply

