Dawn’s Witching Hour

For as early as I can remember, I’ve never really been a morning person. Most days I drag myself out of bed kicking and screaming and barely functional. Given how fast-paced our lives are now, I’ve sort of conditioned myself to be out the door and on my way to work before my first cup of coffee. But on those special days that I do manage to wake up just after the sun does, those days are pure magic.

While the rest of the house is still asleep, I’ll creep down into the kitchen to fix that perfect cup of coffee. Armed with that steadying companion, I’ll sit by the window and contemplate my day.

Dawn

There’s something so magical about those early hours. Everything is so quiet and sleepy as if the entire world has been suspended for those few moments. Like the witching hour, the world is full of promise and magic. A million ideas run through your head, each easily discarded for the next. What to do in those precious moments? How could those few stolen hours change your day or your life?

Could I write a blog post? Could I get a head start on the day’s work? Should I make something creative, perhaps a quick sketch or that piece of embroidery I’ve been meaning to finish? Should I use this time to brainstorm ideas? Or should I just sit there contemplating everything, letting the magic of early mornings seep into me?

Perhaps I’ll let the morning decide for me. After all when dawn’s witching hour beckons, you don’t question the magic, you simply experience.

Leave a Reply

