#MicroblogMondays: Letter to Myself

Somebody asked me today what advice I would give to my 15 year old self and I was stumped. The fact that I was stumped surprised me so much that I thought I’d spend a few minutes penning down a small note to Mini-me.

Dear ST,

Breathe. Everything you’re obsessing about right now will fix itself. Over the next few years, the world is going to get much tougher but it’s also going to get so much better. You’re going to learn things about yourself that you never knew. You’re going to realize the power of your own strength and it will help you when things get tough.

You’re going to start believing in yourself and chasing your dreams. You will be scared and you will give up more times than you should but you will also find strength in yourself and in your talents. You will learn to stop running and find a niche for yourself. You will experience so many amazing things that you couldn’t ever imagine. But they are out there, just waiting for you.

So, my only advice to you is just breathe and believe.

XOXO

5 thoughts on “#MicroblogMondays: Letter to Myself

  1. I agree, a letter to your future self would be like an inspirational reminder to keep doing the good stuff and dump all the bad stuff. Oh, I wish I could have told myself to leave town as fast as humanly possible. To seek out mentors. To dump boyfriends earlier and with no regret.

  2. It’s lovely that the message most people would send back is of reassurance, trust in oneself and hope. Something to bear in mind when thinking that today’s problems are overwhelming… our future selves would probably tell us to ‘breathe and believe’.

  3. Pingback: Letter to My Future Self | If you captured your life in snapshots, what would it look like?

Leave a Reply

