Letter to My Future Self

A couple of months ago, I wrote a small note to my 15 year old avatar – one of advice and reassurance. This time, I thought I’d try it the other way around. I thought I’d write a letter to my future self, keeping in mind where I would like to be in the next few years. So here goes nothing:

Dear Future Self,

First off, congratulations on surviving this long. I know you didn’t think you’d get this far or that your life would look like this, so great job! 🙂

I hope you’re happy. I hope there are moments in you life where you pause and you think ‘Thank God, I’ve got this life.’ I hope you’ve chased some of your dreams and had a few adventures (You’d be so boring otherwise). I hope you’ve figured out what you want to do in life and if not, I hope you’re having a blast exploring your options.

I hope you’ve found someone who makes you light up on the inside whenever they’re near. I hope that they support and motivate you and make you laugh everyday. I hope that the life you’ve built together is enough for you. And here’s the important part, I hope that you’ve both found a way to keep that special spark you have together alive and I pray that you always do.

If for some reason, you are not the person you thought you’d be when you open up this letter again, then don’t fret. I know you’ll find your way. You always do.

Lots of love,

ST

If you could write a letter to either your past or future self, what would you say?

Leave a Reply

