#MicroblogMondays: Driving Classes

If we were grabbing a cup of coffee, I’d tell you that I sat behind the driver’s wheel for the first time today (Milestone unlocked).

Driving a car has been on my bucket list for over five years now. Due to various events and reasons, I kept pushing the date. Finally I got my learner’s permit earlier this month but wasn’t quite ready to start driving. However, with my Dad’s persistent insistence, I signed up at my local driving center for lessons and patiently waited for their first available slot: Today.

Off I went for my first driving class, with butterflies just swimming about in my stomach. You know, the kind where you’re not sure if you’re excited, terrified or a scrambled version of both.

As I sat in that driver’s seat, all I could think was: I couldn’t handle bumper cars back in school and now they’re giving me control of a real one, just for me?!

Thankfully, everything went off well (despite the butterflies).

One down, nineteen more to go. 

9 thoughts on “#MicroblogMondays: Driving Classes

  1. That’s cool!! I very recently joined these classes after getting the learners license and then practiced a bit with my husband. I was always scared and then when he wasn’t around in town, I drove with another friend and cleared the driving test. So DL should be coming soon. All to share that I m scared of traffic and this is the first vehicle I m attempting to drive. I’m a cycle girl 😉
    Your post made me think of this days! Thank you. Read this post when you get time http://happinessandfood.com/2015/08/25/getting-behind-the-wheels/

  2. Congratulations on the milestone! I remember the butterfly days – now I’m experiencing them from a different perspective as my three children work towards leaning to drive! Best of luck with your driving lessons!

      • At the moment, lessons have stalled (no pun intended… well, maybe a little intended) because we’re having brake issues with our family car. However, the eldest (20) is extremely anxious to get back on the road, and is doing fairly well with her father as her co-pilot. I’ve only managed one solo trip out with her, and even though she did great, my anxiety was through the roof.

        Funny thing – our boy isn’t as anxious to get behind the wheel. He feels it’s long past time for him to do it (he recently turned 18) but he’s in no rush. The youngest just hit the age that she can start (15 1/2), and she hasn’t decided if she’s ready to start (once the car is in order).

Leave a Reply

