#MicroblogMondays: Words, Words everywhere

I’m not a picky reader. I will read anything, anywhere. From pamphlets to heavy literature tomes to magazines, all it takes is a few seconds, an interesting writing voice and I’m hooked. Thankfully, this affliction is hereditary. I come from a strong stock of readers that live to get lost in a good book.

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.”
— Marcus Tullius Cicero

My mother was the one who taught me to read. She showed me how to fall in love with the language and taught me to appreciate the power that words can have. She taught me how one word or a change in inflection could transform a sentence. I know that a big part of why words continue to hold me spellbound is because of her. She introduced me to the magic with every fairytale she read, with every story she crafted and with every witty defense she compiled as I grew older and learnt to argue. She taught me that words are carefully wielded tools that can be used to delight as well as to destroy and I’m so glad she did.

Today when I write, those lessons come back to me. Each word is carefully selected, keeping in mind what I’m trying to say and how I could say it better. With each post, each article; I strive to capture a little bit of that same magic I find when I read a good book.

Do you have a similar relationship with words or books? I’d love to hear about it below 🙂

18 thoughts on “#MicroblogMondays: Words, Words everywhere

  1. My dad was that person for me, the one who taught me a love of words and reading and books. Books are my companions and my comfort, my adventures and my enlightenment. Yes, I have a close relationship with books. 🙂

  2. Not sure about a favorite book, but in 3rd grade I was pretty passionate about a fairy tales from around the world series. I don’t remember the name of the series, but each book contained fairy tales from a different country and, boy, did I love those books. How about you?

    • Growing up, I loved anything Enid Blyton. Fairytales from another country sound quite intriguing. I read something similar a few years ago – the Egyptian version of Cinderella and other fables. It was nice to compare them with the Disney version.

  3. I grew up loving to read for its escapism. My parents encouraged reading, but put restrictions on it, like non-fiction is better than fiction. They let me read what I wanted, but I always felt like I should like non-fiction more. As it turns out, I like it all and now, I’m finally ok with that. Not every book needs to have a lesson or a documentation of real life.

  4. It was also my mom who started me on reading. She was an avid reader and in fact my office is filled (2 of 4 walls) with bookshelves and her books- and that’s after getting rid of boxes and boxes when we moved! I’ve always loved to read- I remember being so excited at age 5 to read a Nancy Drew book all by myself. And I was 7 or 8 when I read “Gone with the Wind” and was so sad it was almost over after devouring it in 2 days I stopped for weeks not wanting to get to the end. Now I almost always read a book in one sitting. Ahhh books….I have several waiting on my kindle. I’m inspired. 🙂

  5. I was an aberration in my family. I was the only one who inhaled books like they were necessary to exist (and I’m pretty sure they were). Not because I had a terrible home life or anything – I was just addicted to the movies that played out in my head as I read.

    While I have about a gazillion favorites, this one holds a special place in my heart (and my childhood copy still sits on my bookshelf today) –

    The Velvet Room by Zilpha Keatley Snyder
    http://amzn.to/1NA6LhC

    • Love that line about movies that played out in your head. What a beautiful way of describing reading 🙂 I hadn’t heard of The Velvet Room but will definitely check it out now. Thanks for the recommendation.

  6. I loved books when I was growing up. I never threw one away. I don’t use libraries very much because I am loathe to part with a book that I truly enjoyed. I miss all the days and nights when I would cozy up with a novel, staying up late to read one more page. Not necessarily “literature” but just any story that would sweep me away.

  7. I love books. “A room without books is like a body without a soul” is very true for me because I have books (mine as well as my my son’s) lying, scattered across all the rooms in my house. I just can’t stay without the sight of books. My father introduced me to books in the childhood by buying them for me. Nobody ever sat down to read to me or with me so it is a mystery how I developed this fondness for reading. I used to call out words in my mind repeatedly and marvel at the thought about where they came from, about how how they sounded.

  8. I love books. I always carry a paper one with me, even if I am just running to the grocery store, but I also have a bunch downloaded on my phone just in case I have to go somewhere with a tiny purse that cannot fit a book. That is how far I plan ahead when it comes to books. 🙂

  9. Pingback: #MicroblogMondays: Chronicling My Love Affair With Words | If you captured your life in snapshots, what would it look like?

Leave a Reply

