Adventure Is Out There

Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known -Astronomer Carl Sagan

Travelling the world and experiencing new places has always been a dream of mine. As I sat waiting in an airport lounge earlier this year, I promised myself that I would make a conscious effort to travel more. To visit amazing, new places and not just the tried-and-tested holiday spots. Unfortunately for a single, something-twenties girl with an overprotective family, this is easier said than done.

I come from a very strong culture of ‘Saving‘ where trips around the world are considered frivolous expenses. Thankfully, that attitude is slowly changing (albeit at a more glacial speed than I would like). So I decided to get smart and figure out some travel options that my family would approve of. I didn’t have to worry though. While I was ruminating, the Universe was conspiring.

tumblr_mkbv34ub1u1rsym4so1_500

Image Credit: Snehaspeaks.com

A few weeks after I made this big decision, the perfect travel opportunity fell into my lap. Some family members were travelling abroad and invited me to tag along.  Plans were impulsively made and details sketched out. Now, in less than seven days, I will get on a plane to Bangkok and I couldn’t be more ecstatic.

Excitement.

Anticipation.

Restlessness.

Butterflies.

My stomach is currently a perfect cocktail of emotions and I’m loving every second of it.

Buon viaggio a me 🙂

*This is part of the Writing 101 challenge (Day 15).

Do you have any trips or vacations planned that you’re really excited for? Or is there something that you would like to cross off your bucket list this year?

10 thoughts on “Adventure Is Out There

  1. I love reading your blog, and look forward to hearing about your travels. Exotic destinations are great, but also great satisfaction and adventure can be found in near-by places we have never been before. LOVE this quote of Paolo Coelho, The Alchemist. That is one of the best and most memorable books I have ever read…I think I’ll read it again. 🙂

    • Aww.. That means a lot 🙂 It always nice to know someone is reading. I have to admit I struggled a little reading The Alchemist but this quote made it worthwhile.
      P.S – Thanks for reblogging this post 🙂

      • I love The Alchemist, my psych recommended it to me and I loved it. He is a bit deep, maybe because his main language isn’t English. Thank you for letting me re-blog it. I agree its good to know someone reads what we write. 🙂

  2. I don’t have any travel plans in the immediate future, unfortunately, but at least I’ll get a little time off over the New Year, so that’ll be nice. The first thing I’d like to be able to strike off my bucket list is the compiling of a bucket list. I haven’t got round to making one yet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

