Non-resolution New Years don’t work

As millions gathered across the world a few days ago to ring in the New Year, I stayed comfy cozy in my bed catching up on my sitcoms. The clock struck twelve, 2015 turned into 2016, my family wished each other and the world got right back to normal. I didn’t pop any bottles, release confetti or make any empowering resolutions in the spirit of the night. As 2015 made way for 2016, I lay wrapped up in my little cocoon, perfectly content.

New Year

I know most of you out there reading this are shaking your heads thinking that’s not a new year is supposed to be about. A new year is supposed to be a time for new beginnings, for first steps and for positive change. On most days, I would agree with you. However, this year I just wasn’t feeling that motivating magic. Apparently, the Universe had other ideas.

Within the next few days, I had heard quite a few unintentional pep talks that were guaranteed to tip me from my comfortable cocoon. Some from well-meaning cousins, some from mentors and some from friends. None of these conversations started out as pep talks. In fact, they were quite general but they all got me started on what I wanted to accomplish in 2016. Some skills that I had been debating on acquiring, some experiences that I had been considering on trying this year as well as some personal development habits that I had wanted to cultivate.

All in all, there were a multitude of resolutions that came to me, each connected to the other in some way. Rather than focus on each one individually, I thought I’d focus on the bigger picture (This is a big deal for someone who loves making detailed lists and takes a certain pleasure in checking off each item.)

My 2016 Word of the Year will be Learning.

I’ve decided that this year I’m going to look at each challenge, each experience through the filter of learning. The way I see it, even if I don’t accomplish most of my resolutions by year-end, I would have still learnt something new purely by starting.

Do you have a focus word for 2016? If yes, I’d love to hear it 🙂

*This post is part of the Finish The Sentence Friday challenge.

17 thoughts on “Non-resolution New Years don’t work

  1. Learning is a GREAT word! I love to learn (sometimes I can distract myself by learning too much — “ooh, look: something else that I can learn about!”), and continuous learning has become a part of my personal and professional life. Here’s wishing you a learning-filled 2016!

  2. This is the first time i have had a word for the year. It’s ‘dreams’ this year, for me. The Year of “Dreams coming true”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

