A is for Art

art-quotes-95

Doesn’t that sound blissful?

I’ve been struggling through a rut recently, trying to figure what I want to do with my life and what makes me happy. Those who’ve done this exercise will tell you that it’s one of the most confusing, trying times anyone could go through. While trying to figure out your life’s purpose is tough, trying to figure out what makes you content is a lot tougher. And often, all that looking inward does is give you a giant headache.

So when I sat down to write my first post for this year’s A to Z Blogging Challenge, my inspiration well was running a little low. While searching for things that make me happy, I hit upon the idea of making Art my theme for the month.

Since I’m no Picasso, most of what I would post during the month would be random scribbles or basic craft projects. Not the type of art you’d find in museums or the art that’d make you do a double take but simple, everyday pictures that would leaving me feeling peaceful and content.

While cranking out 25 interesting pieces over the next 30 days is a challenge, it’s one I’m looking forward to. I can’t wait to lose myself in doodling and coloring and collage-making and craft work. I can’t wait for the serenity that comes from mindlessly coloring within the lines or that sense of absolute confidence that you feel when you’ve correctly put together a great color combination. (In a world where we’re often stumbling around trying to make the right decisions, matching the right shade of blue to its green counterpart can often be quite morale-boosting.)

So if you’d like to tag along my journey as I rediscover my childhood love for art & craft, give me a shout below. I’d love to hear from you 🙂

A2Z-BADGE_[2016]

12 thoughts on “A is for Art

  1. Introspection and finding what makes us truly happy has got to be the hardest thing ever. It is good to take a moment each day and connect with something that makes you happy, lest the humdrum of everyday life take its toll. I look forward to checking in on you throughout AtoZ. Good luck!

  2. hi, came to you via the A to Z challenge. Making art is a great way of finding contentment and joy. Art for arts sake is not for others enjoyment… its purely for self. … so go for it. I am a quilter. So often what I am making is for others as gifts (I don’t do commissions….) so I am a bit concerned with how it is going to be received and what their opinion is. I don’t do quilts for shows or exhibitions for that reason. I don’t want my technique or choices being called into question by others and judged. Hope your experiment is worthwhile and rewarding

Leave a Reply

