#MicroblogMondays: The Zombie Diet

I’ve been trying to stretch my creative writing muscles recently so a friend sent me this writing prompt for fun. It’s funny what your brain can come up with when you give it a free rein. Enjoy!

Prompt – Imagine you were a zombie about to dive into some brains…


Snack time! Finally! I was starving…

Now I just need to find some yummy food…. It’s been a long day and I need something comforting…. Hmmm, what about him, by the coffee shop? Let’s get a closer look…

Okay, no. Definitely not going with that…. Too preoccupied with himself… He’ll be just a step above mush and I need more sustenance than that… Why do humans think that vanity is a good flavor?… Tastes like cardboard, if you ask me… I can almost taste his thoughts now *shudder* Okay, enough of that… Let’s move along, I’m getting hungrier!

There must be some other prospects around here… Hmmm… what’s that? It tastes like it’s coming from around the corner…. Well, well, what do we have here? A fresh toddler. Perfect!

Most people don’t know this but toddlers make for the best munchies…. Their brains are flexible, not fully developed… Easy to chew… And then there’s the flavor of their thoughts…. Yummy! That sweet taste of curiosity… That wonder.. And all those pretty colors… My mouth’s watering just thinking of it… Let’s see if we can get a little closer while the nanny’s distracted…

Damn! That kid’s sleepy… His brains are no good now… They’ll be flavored with dreams and that’s just not good for my diet… Too much mush makes for a weak zombie… Oh, look over there!

She looks good. Her mind is moving at the appropriate speed. Not too heavy, not too light. She’d be a good option… A very good option… Oh, what was that?

Let me get closer… Oh! Obsessed with The Royals and can’t wait for Ryan Gosling & Rachel McAdams to get back together? Yes, finally! Now we’re talking my type of food…

Gotta plan this one carefully…. Tasty morsels like this don’t come by too often… Maybe I should approach from the other direction… After all, surprise attacks make for the best flavor! That quick spike of fear makes all those mundane thoughts so much yummier. And don’t get me started on the sweet taste of adrenaline…

Alright, she’s buried deep in her phone… But still, approach slowly….

Wait for it…

One step forward…

Another step…

Wait for it…

And NOW!


Leave a Reply

