If we were grabbing coffee…

If we were grabbing a cup of coffee, I’d be the one sitting at a little table in the corner. Hands wrapped tightly around a cup of hot chocolate. Staring at the falling rain, I’d contemplate all the things I need to tell you. 

If we were grabbing coffee, I’d tell you that I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching over the last few weeks. A lot more than I’m comfortable with. I’d tell you that I’ve reached a few insights but not really sure what to do with them just yet. So I’m going to let them incubate for a little while longer.

cute-girl-sad-separate-with-comma-thinking-favim-com-200392_large

If we were grabbing coffee, I’d talk about how I’m finally writing again and how ecstatic I am to finally be putting words on paper. I’d tell you about my writing slump and how I felt as though I were taking two steps backward. The words just didn’t seem to flow like I wanted them to. You’d ask me about what I’ve written now and I’d just wave it away because the content doesn’t matter. I’d explain that what’s got me excited is the fact that my writing seems to be improving. I’ve been giving myself permission to be more vulnerable and honest with my words and am quite happy with the results. I know I still have a long way to go but I’m confident that I’m headed in the right direction. You’d give me a verbal pat on the back and tell me that you can’t wait to read some of what I wrote, when I feel satisfied enough to share it.

If we were grabbing coffee, I’d tell you all about my new blog venture and how I’m so excited to break ground on it. I’d show you some of the adorable business cards that I’ve made to help spread the word.  I’d tell you about all my grand plans for it and swear you to absolute secrecy because I’m not ready to share it with the world just yet. I’d proudly show you some of the mock-ups I’ve done and ask you what you think. I’d hint that basis the initial reaction I get, I might just be ready to launch it soon. You’d cross your fingers for me and we’d switch topics.

If we were grabbing coffee, I’d ask about your plans. I’d demand that you share with all the gossip that I missed out on since we last sat down together. I’d laugh at your hilarious antics and promise to be there next time. I’d listen to you talk about what happens after this coffee date and we while away the hours exchanging stories.

XXXXXXXXXX

If you were grabbing coffee with me, what would you tell me? 

One thought on “If we were grabbing coffee…

Leave a Reply

