#MicroblogMondays: Someday

my-best-friends-wedding-movie-clip-screenshot-say-it_large
Have you ever listened to a song and remembered the first time you heard it play? Or looked at an outfit and recalled your exact feelings when you bought it?

I’d like to believe that’s our sense memory at play – shoring up moments that seem to be of value to us. It could be something simple like the smell of chlorine reminding you of your first swimming teacher or the taste of salted caramel bringing back memories of a long-forgotten family road trip.

Some of these ‘sense’ memories may not always be logical. In fact, it could just be two senses that were paired together at the formation. For example, whenever I hear or read the word ‘Someday‘ (the word by itself, not used in a sentence), I start to hear Frank Sinatra crooning in the background.

🎵   Someday when I’m awfully low, when the world is cold…   🎵

And I’m pulled back to that moment when I first watched Julia Roberts and Dermot Mulroney slow dance in ‘My Best Friend’s Wedding‘. The play of sunlight across her hair. The shadows as the boat sweeps under a bridge. It all comes back to me in an instant and I’m reminded of the first time I watched that movie.

I have a hazy sense of the greenish-blue water and the buildings passing by. I remember the intimacy and bitter-sweetness of that dance. The finality and loneliness. All those senses coming flooding back in rapid flashes as the song envelopes my mind.

And then it’s gone.

My mind moves back to the situation at hand.


What about you? Do you have any sense memories that seem to make sense only in an intuitive or basic way? Let me know below. 
4 thoughts on “#MicroblogMondays: Someday

  1. I love songs with strong lyrics and meaningful flow. So, there are songs that when I hear, I’m reminded of the time i associated these songs with my own feelings or state of mind.

    • I kinda of like that idea – linking memories to songs that mean something. It makes the memory more tangible in a way. Is there a special song / memory that you keep going back to?

      • There is a Hindi song that was playing in the background when I was dating my husband. We both bared our hearts that evening with this song playing. It would translate to something like ‘Nobody is like you’ 😄 11 years now – when this song plays, I think of that day 🙂

Leave a Reply

